2022-23 NASTAR Award Recipient-02

On Thursday, June 8, 2023, Nassau BOCES held their 5th Annual NASTAR Awards Celebration at the Long Island Marriott during the Year End NASTECH Meeting to recognize educators for their innovative and exemplary technology leadership and use in the district.  Bethpage Schools was pleased to recognize Ashley Scotto, library media specialist at Central Boulevard Elementary School as their NASTAR Award Recipient.

While just in her second year with Bethpage Schools, Ashley has completely immersed herself within the Bethpage Schools and Central Boulevard Elementary School community.  In addition to delivering instruction in her library media center and instilling the love of reading, she champions the schools Energy Bus initiative, serves as advisor for the We Belong Club, and coaches the building's hackathon team.

In the nomination excerpt submitted by Andrew Choi, District Director of Technology:

"Ashley Scotto seamlessly integrates the use of instructional technology tools in Central Boulevard Elementary School Library Media Center. Her lessons are creative, dynamic, and purposeful. The students genuinely look forward to library time with Ms. Scotto! It is commonplace these days that the library media specialist becomes the point person for technology support and troubleshooting and Ashley excels at providing support for her colleagues. She has helped to champion the school's Energy Bus initiative. She is the advisor for the school's We Belong Club, which highlights diversity, inclusion, and various cultures. Ashley is also the coach for the school's Hackathon Team and helped to spearhead the district's plan to implement the new Computer Science and Digital Fluency Standards. Ashley is an active member of the Central Boulevard and Bethpage Schools community. Follow Ashley on Twitter (@scotto_educator) to see the innovative things taking place in her library media center."

Ashley joins a list of NASTAR Award Recipients from Bethpage Schools (Kristin Rochford, 2019; Kathryn Oak, 2020; Julianne Inghilterra, 2021; Andrea Swicord, 2022).

Bethpage Schools congratulates Ashley Scotto on this recognition and is grateful to have her as a part of the school community.