Group photo of tenure honorees

On Tuesday, May 30, 2023, the Bethpage Union Free School District hosted its annual tenure reception in the Bethpage High School courtyard, which was followed by a Board of Education meeting in the high school auditorium.

Central and building administrators, Board of Education members, colleagues, family and friends attended the tenure reception to honor 13 outstanding individuals. Student-musicians in the Bethpage High School Jazz Ensemble performed throughout the evening, and Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources Caroline Lavelle and Superintendent of Schools Dave Schneider opened the special event by congratulating those receiving tenure. 

One by one, Mr. Schneider introduced the building principals to speak about their school’s tenure recipients. John F. Kennedy Middle School Principal Kevin Fullerton, Bethpage High School Principal Nicholas Jantz, Charles Campagne Principal Erin Lindsay-DiFiglia, and Central Boulevard Principal Dominique Siebert praised their tenure honorees and shared why they were deserving of this special recognition.

The district congratulates the following tenure recipients:

Central Administration

Lisa Lucchesi, Executive Director for Pupil Personnel Services and Special Education.

Bethpage High School

Michael Barden, Languages Other Than English teacher; Nicole Dulaney, Science teacher; Allison Gallagher, Mathematics teacher; Danielle Villanueva, Languages Other Than English teacher.

John F. Kennedy Middle School

Kristen Warnokowski, Music teacher; Laura DiBlasi, Teaching assistant; Cristin Ronzo, Teaching assistant; Georgeanna Sansobrino, Teaching assistant.

Central Boulevard Elementary School

Maria Bacalocostantis, Teaching assistant; Teresa Douglas, Teaching assistant; Lauren Sullivan, Teaching assistant.

Charles Campagne Elementary School

Srividya Sridharan, Teaching assistant.

Following the tenure reception, the Bethpage Board of Education held its meeting which began with a special presentation to honor Bethpage High School’s Captains’ Club. Members consist of captains from each athletic team who strive to make the school a better place and complete service projects to support important causes such as cancer research. John Franchi, Director of Athletics, Physical Education and Health, spoke highly of the student-athletes and shared that it is the third year that Bethpage High School was named a NYSPHSAA School of Distinction for having 100% of its varsity teams receive the Scholar-Athlete team award. Each had to achieve a 90 grade point average or above to earn the award.

Class of 2023 valedictorian and two-time team captain (softball and tennis) Stephanie Pilnacek spoke on behalf of her fellow peers and thanked the families and district for their support both on and off the field. Following her remarks, each captain was recognized on the auditorium stage with a certificate. They each shared what team they were the captain of and their future plans. The district congratulates each student-athlete on their hard work, dedication, and leadership.